Awards overview

APSAA Awards

Each year, APSAA offers a range of scholarships and awards that recognise outstanding performance and innovative ideas from our members. These awards are presented on an annual basis at the APSAA Conference. 

Categories are as follows:

  • Fran O’Brien Award for New Professionals
  • Joe Massingham Award for Meritorious Services
  • Michael O’Leary Award for Innovation
  • Business Partner of the Year
  • The ‘My Favourite Student’ Best of Program Award
  • APSAA Scholarship
  • ACUHO-I New Professional Award

Four new awards were also introduced as part of our 25th anniversary celebrations in 2016:

  • Excellence in Marketing and Communications 
  • Excellence in Facility Development or Management
  • Excellence in Student Experience
  • Excellence in Customer Service

In 2020 an additional Excellence Award is being introduced

  • Excellence in Sustainable Development Goals

The Housing Operation of the Year Award has been discontinued.


The Association may award up to three recipients for each area of excellence (one in each of the below endorsements).  The Association may also choose to award none, one, or all three in a year.

The endorsements shall be:

  • College
  • University
  • Corporate

Benefits for Winners

Recipients of an APSAA Award receive national and international peer recognition, official acknowledgement (in the form of trophy or certificate), publication of their details in APSAA's Student Accommodation Journal, E-News bulletin and APSAA webpage and public acknowledgement at the official Awards Gala Dinner at the APSAA Conference. 

APSAA Star Recognition

For operators that win an award in a category area they will receive a star.  If they win an award in 3 areas they will get a star banner, and so forth until 5 max.

Nomination Key Dates

Nominations open: NOW!

Nominations close: 10am AEDT Monday 23 November

Nominations announced: tbc

Award recipients announced: tbc