APSAA Committees 2020/21

In June 2020, the 2020/21 APSAA Board met for their first meeting to discuss next steps in progressing the APSAA Strategic Plan.  Carrying out their directives are the APSAA Committees.  

The Finance & Risk Committee led by Andre Lee, Curtin University is responosible for the management of the Association's budget, finance and risk.

The Industry Advancement Committee (IAC) led by Tomas Johnsson, CEO UniLodge Strives to develop the student accommodation industry through leadership, advocacy and engagement.

The Professional Development Committee led by Deakin Residential Student Experience Manager Laura Burge is responsible for planning and delivery of professional development events in each State/Territory - provide input on relevant themes and topics and source speakers.

The Communications & Engagement Committee led by Jacob Waitere, Head of Operations, University of Auckland is responsible for branding, marketing of Industry initiatives, as well as the Industry Journal - Student Accommodation - contribute by sourcing articles, providing editorial advice and ideas.

The Aotearoa/New Zealand Advisory Group led by Jacob Waitere, Head of Operations, University of Auckland.

The Conference Committee is led by Jacob Waitere, Head of Operations, University of Auckland and has big plans for Adelaide 2021, following the cancellation of the 2020 Conference due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The committee Chairs’ say that members can look forward to a strategic IAC approach, a packed professional development program, a refreshed Student Accommodation Journal with some new features and ideas and a conference program that will tie in all industry elements as well as present the highly regarded APSAA Excellence Awards. 

2020/21 APSAA Committees

Conference Committee

Finance & Risk Committee

Communications & Engagement

Jacob Waitere (Chair)

Andre Lee (Chair)

Jacob Waitere (Chair) 

Marion Bayley

Marion Bayley

Simone Gallo

Gemma Edgar

Paterson Boyd


Carolyn Mee

Alasdair Murrie-West


Rachael Phillips



Tara Holst - Study Tour, Perth



Kathy Radoslovich - Study Tour, Adelaide



Professional Development Committee

Industry Advancement Committee

Aotearoa Advisory Group

Laura Burge (Chair)

Tomas Johnsson (Chair)

Jacob Waitere (Chair)

Cameron Bestwick

Bradley Brown

Tara Baker

Gemma Edgar

Sue Fergusson

George Connolly

Daniel Lee

Simone Gallo

Melissa Leaupepe

Al Martin

David Horder

Martin Thomas

Jacob Waitere

Dom Kilduff



Andre Lee



Laura Robers





Get involved with APSAA

Keen to get involved?  Complete the form below, and we will be in touch....